About Me

Growing Up

I hope you're enjoying the website and just wanted to tell you a little about my background. I grew up in the small town of Ketchikan Alaska with my four brothers (that's right...4) and one little sister. Although strange to some, this was normal to us and quite an adventure. Ketchikan is a great town for boys to grow up and when we weren't in school or working at some job (Dad had us selling the Ketchikan Daily News on the docks when we were 5 years old), we were fishing, hiking or playing sports. My family is now based mostly in the California area with various jobs including Nathaniel (the eldest) as a lawyer, Christoper (the second and one before me) as a Hollywood film/tv editor, Patrick (my first younger brother) as an investment banker, Timothy (the "baby boy" and most successful) as a commercial fisherman and Genevieve (the only girl and youngest) in veterinary school.

I grew up to be the scientist in the family and now have been working in the field for nearly 15 years. This website includes snippets about my training and career from my start in a clinical research lab, graduate studies and postdoctoral work, but through it all, my interest has been centered in trying to figure out how we work. I am recently married to my lovely wife Renata (adding another scientist to the family) and now have the perfect person to argue with about my research.

I would encourage you to read more about my research in these pages and let me know if we share any interests in common. You can always see more through social media links or contact me to hopefully discuss science over a beer.

Thanks for interest and come back soon.